To The Bone: Movie Review

totheboneposterMovie: To the Bone

Director: Marti Noxon

Studio: Netflix

Release Date: 14. July. 2017 (DK)

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Actual Movie Name: Starvation.

I ran to buy myself a sandwich after this movie.

So, I’ve always wanted to lose like ten pounds, and then go to France and gain it all back through fine dining and lots and lots of cheese and wine, but now, I’m not so sure I should go for ten pounds, I think I’ll stick to like… five, maybe four.

This movie was very hard to watch, and no matter how well-acted, well written it was, or how much Alex Sharp’s character Luke brought a smile to my lips whenever he was on the screen, I could still not bring myself to enjoy the movie. And not because I didn’t like it, on the contrary, it was impressive and a good movie, I just couldn’t, because it kind of scared me. It scared me that there are people out there with this mindset and are suffering from this problem.

See, this morning, I had a plan. Wake up, go to the gym, eat and then go to the park and do some writing. The weather was kind of nice-ish, but two paragraphs in I got bored of my own words and decided to read Kurt Vonnegut’s Hocus Pocus, but I also gave up on that and decided again to use my phone’s hotspot to Netflix, and after strolling and strolling, I decided to watch ‘To the Bone’ because well, Keanu Reeves and Lily Collins are in it. My day in no way included me sobbing at the park like a crazy person or buying a spontaneous sandwich.

I did not think the movie was going to be this dark when I started. And during the last half of the movie when I started sobbing because of that tent scene with the rice milk, the people around looked at me weirdly, but really, I didn’t care.

This movie was dark and real and… made me really think. Lily’s character Ellen has severe anorexia problems. Basically, she doesn’t eat, chew or put calories in her mouth, she joked about having ‘calorie Aspergers’. This movie was well written and showed realistically what people with eating disorders go through, and the impact this has on their family and friends.

The performance in this movie was great, it made me really care for the characters, especially Ellen, and Keanu was amazing as Dr. Beckham, I loved his whole ‘grow a pair’ approach because at one point this was what I wanted to shout at to Ellen, like, seriously how hard can it be to just effing eat? But then at the same time, I understood her, somehow, because she was too close to see the damage.

Ellen had a backstory about her life before she stopped eating and even hated the idea of putting food in her mouth, and it sounded intriguing, but we only got to hear bits and pieces about it, which was my only issue with this movie, I wanted to know exactly what and how she got pushed over to this point that she was on the blink of dying and couldn’t even notice.

She measured her weight by how she could fit her hand around her arms. There’s a scene in a restaurant where she looks so alive like she is actually living but she really wasn’t, because, once again, she decided the calorie count was more important than the moment and the person in front of her.

I felt so bad for her. She was fading away in front of my computer screen and I just couldn’t. I cried in a few scenes, one of them where the group went to this waterfall ‘art’ thing, and Luke was dancing. I also felt sorry for all the characters and for everything that they lost at the end of the movie.

In the end, all I can say is that ‘To the Bone’ was a good movie, well written, well acted, and very very dark, but it’s real, it felt real to me and made me at times very sad to see what Ellen, her friends, and her family were going through.

But there is a light at the end of this tunnel, and I’m glad there was because, in the end, it showed Ellen choosing life!

If you can get past the hard parts and the sobbing at the last half of the movie, then you are definitely going to enjoy this movie.

Actual Movie Name: Starvation.

Rating: 4/5 sandwich stars = This movie was Great. I will recommend it because I’m sure you’d like it. It was time well spent, might re-watch again in the near future.

Until next time, don’t forget to eat and exercise my lovelies.

Mel Out!

Leave a Reply

