The Love Interest: Book Review

311451481Title: The Love Interest

Author: Cale Dietrich

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Release Date: 16. May 2017

Rating: 2/5 stars

Links: GoodreadsAmazon

What happens when the two boys who are supposed to compete for the love of the girl falls in love with each other? Well, in this book, apparently, boredom.

Blurb:

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

Warning: This review contains spoilers, and MINE opinions.

Review

After the many over the top novels about good and bad boys competing for the love of that ever.so.freaking.special girl — I couldn’t wait to read this book because it sounded freaking awesome.

Book: So this two guys. One handsome and good…and one hot and bad are supposed to compete for the love of this special important girl.

Me: Really? You don’t say, I’ve never ever heard/read any story like this… *roll eyes*

Book: But… but…instead the boys starts falling for each other.

Me: Shut up and take my money!!!

So yes, I had high hopes going into this, because it was something different and different amidst all these books that promises the same things was well… good.

But boy was I wrong. This book was so disappointing. I am pretty sure that if you look up the words disappointing in the dictionary, there will be a picture of this book right next to it.

I did enjoy the dig, it took at YA book cliches, which is the only reason why I gave this book 2 stars. It was so meta!

“”No one finds the love of their life while they’re a teenager.”
“You haven’t read any YA novels recently, have you?”

The Love Interest had an interesting plot and it would have been an awesome read…but at last, we can’t always get what we want.

What I expected: An epic romantic story that leaves me squirreling with joy and going… yessss finally they are together, suck it, special girl.

Instead what I got was:

One dimensional characters.

There’s nothing special about them. They weren’t developed. We are told from the start what they are and it’s all we got. Caden is Nice, and Dylan is Bad. Which they never let us forget!

Caden is Nice, a goody-two-shoes. Also known us boring as frck! He’s the narrator and has the personality of a house plant. He had no charisma or interesting thoughts, nor did he do anything exciting. I didn’t care for his thoughts and problems nor did I care that he might die… because, well shush… he could be replaced by a doormat in his own book and it still wouldn’t make a damn difference, because both would have done… nothing!

Most of the time, I was waiting for Dyl to come into the picture so he’d narrate something, like driving a car, other than how he didn’t want to die, but he also didn’t want to lose. MAKE UP YOUR MIND BOZO!

Caden also kept letting the reader know he’s considered as a Nice, the every good boy next door, but inside he’s really a Bad because he’s a liar and would do whatever it takes to win. However, he spends half of the book feeling bad for the competition to the point where even after he won, he risked everything to save the competition. Hmm… okay, clearly your definition of *not wanting to die* is different than mine.

Dylan is a Bad. He’s supposed to be a tortured soul and all so bad. But, all he ever does is give inspiration speeches about how his life needs to be his own, and he didn’t understand half of the job he’s been trained to do most of his life! The first time he comes into narration he tells Caden about his hopes and dreams, and then he continues to hang around him, by telling him of his not-so-bad-plans and sh!t.

Like…Hmm excuse me:

Not only does Dylan not do anything bad, well except being a total dickhead when he flat out told Caden he’d been using him this whole time, and he wasn’t gay. I was like… honey, you Mr. One Dimensional character can’t, all of a sudden, tell me you were hiding some interesting facts about you. Yous lovees him, and yous know it. And also, I rolled my eyes and just went… oh please… this is so original… more eye rolling.

There was nothing interesting about Dylan either, but perhaps his thoughts would have been more interesting than dear old boring Caden’s!

Well, now we’d never know.

Juliet is supposed to be a genius, someone who is going to change the world but what I got from her was a big-fat-nothing. She was the most uninteresting character of all of them. Even Trevor… the swimmer/cheater friend had some character development and personality! I mean come on! So this guy comes to her school saying he’s a long lost friend who has been ignoring her for years. She’s like mad for two seconds, and then bang! #instantbestfriends! Hell, are you not going to demand over.the.top answers to where he’s been?

And then of course she finds out the two boys who’d been fighting over her are Love Interests sent to make her fall in love with them so they can spy on her, and all she did was… run home, get them food and water, and use her two pieces of science thingies to try and save their lives. GO HOME GIRL. GO BACK TO SLEEP. Because clearly, you have no effing idea what you are supposed to do in this plot, nor are you aware of human emotions!

There’s no way her reaction to things is normal. Like, are you serious Mr. Writer? In what world would someone fall in Love with Caden, when like all he does with her is eat lunch and cut celery? Also, the chemistry between Juliet and Caden were none—existing, just like her emotions.

Juliet didn’t even ask Caden questions from their childhood, they don’t reminisce about anything. I expected the author to bring a scenario where she ask something, a memory or a moment they shared, and he wouldn’t know the answer or something. This would have made things a little bit interesting, but instead all they talked about were things that brought about vague answers. COME ON, PLEASE GIVE ME SOMETHING, ANYTHING BEFORE I–

The Plot

Jesus, this book started off all nice and wonderful and then it went downhill the moment Caden and Dylan were released into the world. There was no world-building, nothing was ever really explained to the readers. Like what the eff is LIC, and can you tell us more about that? There are more than Love Interests, there are also Plants or something along the lines, but all of that is glossed over to make room for more of Caden’s boring narration of his fake parents, his none-existing dual personality, and his none-interesting inner demons… which by the way, you can’t find, even with a microscope.

What annoys me the most is how the author expects me to believe that Juliet will welcome a friend who has been ignoring her for years with open arms with no questions asked. Or that she will forgive Caden and Dylan so easily after what they did to her, to the point of risking her life for them a second later. Or that she wouldn’t even mention anything about her best friend being a Love Interest. Or the HUGE fact that five teenagers can take down a centuries old organization with high-tech powered headquarters and workers. Like, they walked in there, and two seconds later… WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS, MY FRIENDDDDD.

Excuse me Mr, Author, did you expect me to keep quiet and believe this plotline? Like, did you seriously thought I wouldn’t notice this huge unbelievable conclusion?

Also, like Trevor dies and I feel nothing. I’m supposed to feel something, I’ve been with the guy through his swimming and his OMG I need to be picked for the Olympics crap, and then he get’s killed and for two seconds I’m like… Oh, but that fella had a dream and stuff… and that was that! No effs were given by me.

The Romance

I’m sorry there was no chemistry between Juliet and Caden.

There was no chemistry between Juliet and Dylan.

And in what world would Natalie react to Trevor cheating the way she did, to the point of killing someone to avenge his death? I mean, Love Interest or Not, no one is that in-love!

And I’m sorry, but I didn’t actually feel that awesome feeling I was supposed to feel for Dylan and Caden. I mean, I was like yeah, they need to be together and stuff, but I wasn’t dying for them to be together. Frankly, I didn’t care if they died or whatever, because their chemistry was so-so, and with Caden’s boring narration I couldn’t wait for them to come together so the book would end.

Because how can I feel something, when the author kind-of develop Caden and Dylan slowly fallen for each other, and then when it was time for them to come out and say screw it, let’s be together! Dylan shuts Caden down, saying he was only pretending for the competition and he is straight, and making me super angry. And guess what Caden did when this happened.

Dylan: I don’t have any feelings for you. I was using you to try and win, and I Love girls with a capital JERK!

Me: How dare you say something so hurtful, take it back you devil child!

Caden: Oh well, I kind of expected something like this. Excuse me while I get angry and sad for a WHOLE minute. Two seconds later… oh well, you win some you loose some… YOLO RIGHT?

Me: 

Like after all that, risking your life and given up everything for him, you are just going to accept this BS? And also was I suppose to believe that Dylan, Mr. Bad guy was hiding in the closet and didn’t want to come out? Well, excuse me while I gag in disbelief.

All in all, I expected them to fall passionately in love, but all I got was Caden wanting to die for a guy who won’t admit his feelings… so excuse you!

To everyone who is dying to read this book as much as I wanted too. To you I say:

Because there’s nothing interesting to read/see here. I’m saving you hours of your life you’d never get back.

YOU. ARE. WELCOME.

Actual Movie Name: The Not So Interesting Love Interest.

Rating: 2 uninteresting stars = Meh. I shouldn’t have read this book. It had its moments, but never again, once was enough.

In short, this book is like a cardboard cutout of what it promised to be. And you know the only thing those cutouts are good for is putting in a corner and ignoring…forever!

Mel Out!

Leave a Reply

