Sunday Short #2: Somewhere Only We Know

8c76ed43d370a6f11d18980fa559d34a

Sunday Short Entry: #2

Song: Somewhere Only We Know

Singer: Keane

Label: Island

Album Release Date: 10. May 2005, (UK)

Rating: 6/5 stars

Links: YoutubeiTunes

Sometimes a word, a sound, grabs a hold of your heart and refuses to let go–> in the case of this song, I won’t let it.

***The point of Sunday Shorts here on my page @melsheaven is to do quick reviews/rants of books, movies, series, animes, favorites, songs, places… basically, anything and everything I find interesting.***

For this entry, I will be talking about my all-time favorite song, Somewhere Only We Know by Keane. In all honesty, I didn’t even know this great song existed until Glee’s episode: 2×18 “Born This Way” aired and took me by surprise. Yes, yes, I watched Glee!

Related image

From the moment the ever fabulous Blaine Andersen and the Warblers decided to spontaneously burst it out in farewell to Kurt Hummel leaving Dalton Academy, I knew I’d found my favorite song.

When I heard the song, it touched my heart in such a way that it transformed me somewhere, deep inside of me and I couldn’t escape until I felt each lyric, each beat matched my own heartbeat and tears started to stream down my face.

And to be fair, I’m not the crying type, heck, I’m the only one I know who didn’t cry the first time I watched Titanic, but this song, for some reason, although it wasn’t that emotional had me crying my eyes out in silence.

Image result for somewhere only we know tumblr

So after the episode ended, I just had to know who was responsible for such a lovely music, and that was when I was first introduced to Keane, who I’ve been a fan of ever since that day. Their version of the song made me even sadder, the emotion in their voices, the words, everything just made me cling on tighter to this place deep down inside I didn’t know, but wanted to remind forever.

Somehow the words remembered me of my favorite quote from Charles Bukowski’s, ‘You Get So Alone At Times That It Just Makes Sense.‘ And that made me love the song even more.

there is a place in the heart that
will never be filled

a space

and even during the
best moments
and
the greatest times
times

we will know it

we will know it
more than
ever

there is a place in the heart that
will never be filled
and

we will wait
and
wait

in that space.

There have been a few songs that had almost brought me to the edge of letting go of everything and letting the words and emotions wash over me, but none had grabbed a hold of my heart the way that this beautiful song did.

Image result for somewhere only we know tumblr

And for that, this song will forever be a masterpiece, a favorite, an escape, and a love of mine. I’ll forever keep it on replay !! Thank you, Glee, for introducing me to this song, and thank you, Keane, for writing just a beautiful and emotional piece.

Actually Song Name: Somewhere I Want to Know

Rating: 6/5 beautiful stars = This song is PIZZA. Dare I say even better? Buy it, listen to it, marry it, repeat, because this book is Pizza, and Pizza is life.

Until we meet in that place…

Happy Sunday.

Mel Out!

Leave a Reply

