It Ends With Us: Book Review

27362503

Title: It Ends With Us

Author: Collen Hoover

Publisher: Atria Books

Release Date: 2. August 2016

Rating: 3/5 stars

Links: GoodreadsAmazon

I made a mistake assuming this was a romance novel. Before I realized my heart wasn’t fluttering with joy, I was too busy crying to complain!

Blurb:

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

***This review contains spoilers! Proceed with caution!***

Review

This book took me by surprise, in a good way. It started off all warm and fuzzy in a would they-or-won’t they relationship. At first, I wasn’t sure if I should bother or continue reading because let’s be honest, we all know how those books start and how they end.

“Fifteen seconds. That’s all it takes to completely change everything about a person. Fifteen.”

So yeah, I thought I got it figured. Seriously, I was rolling my eyes like nobody’s business every time Lily try to forget the stranger she meant who had invaded her thoughts, and how she was, of course, definitely never going to give in to him.

I was like, girl, please, just bone him already and get it over with, because we all know that’s what you are going to do, that’s what is going to happen, because:

  1. He is freaking HOT!
  2. He is a DOCTOR. The life-saving kind.
  3. He is super RICH!
  4. You know you WANT him!

And then of course we moved right to the love interest being a total dickhead and a douche and going straight for the ‘Oh mine you are so goddamn beautiful standing alone on the edge of this very high building like a goddamn weirdo, but oh my you are so goddamn special that I absolutely have to sleep with you, would you please sleep with me. And also, I’m asking because I need you to know that I have emotional problems, commitment issues and also I’m handsome as fu.k so I have to be a huge douche!”

commercial photography locations

Boo-freaking-hoo! Seriously, the good thing about this book in the first half, was Atlas and how much I wanted to know more about what happened to him. Even so, I was very much ready to give up on this book.

But then, Ryle’s true-self came into the picture, when he hit the woman he loved for something so innocent and stupid. The first time he apologized, the second time he tried to pretend that she fell and nothing happened–yeah right?–and then it came to the point that he tried to rape her!

“I feel like everyone fakes who they really are, when deep down we’re all equal amounts of screwed up. Some of us are just better at hiding it than others.”

I was shocked… What the eff?! And to make matters worse, she forgave him! Here’s a woman who has seen what an abusive relationship could do to a family, a woman, a life–all up close, and she still forgave the bastard!! What? I can’t she did that And I–

Lily, why, after everything that happened with your mother are you still stupid? Lily hated her abusive father to the point that she didn’t even speak at his funeral–but then she just up and forgive the man who hit her over and over and tries to rationalize his behavior? What the eff. Love is not this stupid, is it? Dafug!

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”

At this point I was 95% going to give up on this awful book, more out of anger and hatred for Lily and Ms. Hoover than anything else… but then I decided, what the heck, I need to complete my Goodreads reading challenge for the year, so I decided to swallow my pride and the rational part of my brain and suffer through this ish!

AND. I. AM. VERY. HAPPY. THAT. I. DID.

Because this book was so beautiful. Like one moment I’m like, big-freaking-whoop, I so did not see it coming that the brother she had who is a doctor is going to be the Ryle… like it was the first prediction I made when a very rich looking girl who didn’t seem to need a job decided to work for her. So, yeah, back to my point, I was so over it– even more so when the whole, we are in love blah bla, flower store, blah bla, marriage blah bla happened… seriously, the only reason I still kept going was her diary entries…

But then:

“And as hard as this choice is, we break the pattern before the pattern breaks us.”

The second half of this story happened, and I was like… OMG. What a beautiful story, I can’t believe I almost didn’t read it.

It was an emotional rollercoaster through and through. I cried, I laughed, I shook my head in understanding in the development and cried some more. Simple put:

Suddenly all the dairy entries started feeling more real and making more sense and I just couldn’t handle it anymore.

Lily.

Lily is one of the stronger characters I’ve read about for a while now. I made the mistake of assuming she was going to be just like all the heroine out there, saying what they are supposed to do, but then not doing it because they talk themselves out of it. So, I was very positive she was going to end up like her mother, and her judgemental comments would apply to her as well. But, what a strong woman! I applaud you Ms. Hoover for bearing your soul and given us this beautiful story.

Preventing your heart from forgiving someone you love is actually a hell of a lot harder than simply forgiving them.

I’m also very happy my prediction about how Lily would handle the familiar situation she found herself in were wrong. At first, I thought I was right and she was going to stay with an abusive husband, and I was very angry when she kept forgiven Ryle, understanding his behavior and trying to rationalize it by saying she understood and that he was angry.

So what if he was angry? He himself said this:

“You are my wife. I’m supposed to be the one who protects you from the monsters. I’m not supposed to be one.”

Yeah. He is not supposed to hit you. He’s supposed to love and protect you! We all get angry too, we don’t just up and hit and try to rape someone!!!! Jesus, I was so sad and disappointed when this happened, that for a second I couldn’t accept that the person we knew from the first half, with his tormented past and his dreams to save lives and become a better person was actually this person who hits and hurts his wife.

“It stops here. With me and you. It ends with us.”

I was glad she was able to break the pattern and ask for a divorce although she still loved him and they had just had a kid together. I’m also happy she said she wished the daughter wasn’t a part of him because his behavior was not okay.

“Naked truths aren’t always pretty.”

Ryle.

In the beginning of the story, although he was a douche like every guy in these types of books, there were moments when I found myself smiling at his smarty-ass-comments, so I was actually sad that he turned out to be who he was. Even his past–a little kid holding a gun that kills your brother–I felt for him, and I was actually rooting for him to pass his Doctor-thingy and save a lot of lives–but then…he turned out to be an abusive husband.

“Just because we didn’t end up on the same wave, doesn’t mean we aren’t still a part of the same ocean.”

Atlas.

Man, where do I even start? From the beginning of this book, I felt for this poor little homeless boy who had no one. He was the reason I kept going because I wanted to know what happened to him and why they weren’t together. And when he finally came into the picture I was so happy to see that he’d done well for himself. He was frankly my favorite in this story and also Allysa she was such a wonderful friend.

“Lily, Atlas says just keep swimming. —Ellen DeGeneres”

I was very happy that Atlas himself kept swimming even with everything he went through. Really everything about him was just great, and I’m very happy Boston didn’t let him done and he was able to make something of himself although he had nothing and no one.

“You can stop swimming now, Lily. We finally reached the shore.”

The ending of this story was bittersweet. I felt somewhat sorry/sad for how things turned out for Lily and Ryle, but I was fine and okay with it because the ending of was what they deserved, frankly I wouldn’t have accepted anything else.

When Lily finally had the courage to ask Atlas why he didn’t come for her as he promised, I clapped. I was like, finally someone is asking the same question I wanted an answer to. You should have seen me try to do a backflip when Atlas finally came true and told Lily he lied about being in a relationship, and basically saying, it’s always been you.

 photo 4842FA37-D99B-4299-A257-69C0022519B4_zpsio43lvpp.jpg

Yeah, please do, that boy has been through a lot and he loves you, and it’s always been you. So please fall in love with him, over and over, and over again, because he deserves it after all the crap life has thrown at him.

“Maybe love isn’t something that comes full circle. It just ebbs and flows, in and out, just like the people in our lives”

To concluded. I enjoyed this book. It was bittersweet and had its moment.

Actual Book Name: When to Stop Swimming

Rating: 3/5 atlas stars = This book was good. I enjoyed it. I would have loved it thoroughly, but the beginning was so-so.

Keep swimming friends.

Mel Out!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

