Sunday Shorts #1: Gates of Paradise Book Review

71beifw02el

Sunday Short Entry: #1

Title: Gates of Paradise, (Casteel #4)

Author: V. C. Andrews

Publisher: Pocket Book

Release Date: 15. July 1990

Rating: 5/5 stars

Links: GoodreadsAmazon

Oh mine, why does forbidden love look so delicious?!!!

***The point of Sunday Shorts here on my page @melsheaven is to do quick reviews/rants of books, movies, series, animes, favorites, songs, places… basically, anything and everything I find interesting.***

For my very first entry, I will like to review one of the very first full-length books I ever read on my own, which has become one of my very favorites books of all time namely: Gates of Paradise.

Blurb:

Stunned by tragedy, desperate and alone, Heaven’s daughter clung to the frailest of dreams! The car crash that killed Heaven and Logan left Annie Casteel Stonewall orphaned and crippled. Whisked off to Farthinggale Manor by the possessive Tony Tatterton, Annie pines for her lost family, but especially for Luke, her half-brother.

Friend of her childhood, her fantasy prince, her loving confidante…without the warm glow of Luke’s love, she is lost in the shadows of despair. When Annie discovers Troy’s cottage hidden in Farthinggale’s woods, the mystery of her past deepens. And even as she yearns to see Luke again, her hopes and dreams are darkened by the sinister Casteel spell…treacherous, powerful and evil!

Quick Review

Okay, I haven’t read anyone of the Casteel series until my grandfather came home with Gates of Paradise from his ship, and I ‘borrowed it’, well stole is more like it — because once I read the prologue I couldn’t put the book down!

I know what that might seems like, what with her going: I’m in love with my half-brother and can’t tell him because the words are forbidden. Well, that one was the very reason I so wanted to read the book, because the story itself seemed forbidden and scandalous, and I just had to know how it ended.

I’m I an awful person for hoping, right from the beginning, even before I read the first chapter that Luke and Annie end up together although they were a family? Well #dontjudgement #imonlyhuman #hopelessromantic #ithinkineedhelp.

You may think I am crazy for wishing that they end up together, but to you I say:

“you’ve got to learn something from every defeat in life or life will defeat you.”

I loved every word of this book. It’s safe to say that since I got the book back in 2008, I’ve read it more than 200 times–for real! This is how much I loved this book.

This is me the first time and every time I read this book.

hahaha I can't stand it photo tumblr_lmuf7mz1dS1qjgaag.gif

I found out that people don’t find this book the strongest in the series, but I haven’t read any of the books in this series, and frankly I’m not really sure if I should because I want this one to be my favorite, forever and always, with Luke and Annie XD.

Actually Book Name: Forbidden Love

Rating: 5/5 forbidden love stars = This book is PIZZA. Buy it, read it, marry it, repeat, because this book is Pizza, and Pizza is life.

I really loved this book, and highly recommends it!! Like, read it now!!!

Happy Sunday.

Mel Out!

Leave a Reply

