The Death Cure: Book Review

The_Death_CureTitle: The Death Cure, (Maze Runner #3)

Author: James Dasher

Publisher:Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Release Date: 11. October 2011

Rating: 3/5 stars

Links: Goodreads  Amazon

I’ve never wanted to punch anyone in the nose as much as I wanted to punch Thomas in this book!

Blurb:

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

Review:

First of all, given this book 3 whole stars doesn’t mean I love it. Yes, I liked it. No, I will not be re-reading it, because I am so disappointed.

I’m giving this book three stars because of Newt and Minho, and also because there were some parts that I actually enjoyed, although at the moment my disappointment with the ending is making me remember only the part I hated, and so I am ready to rant about them.

It’s really sad, because I really loved the first book and the movie.

After the awful ending to Lauren Oliver’s ‘Delirium Series’ in Requiem, I promised myself to read reviews before reading any finale book. So far, I haven’t followed my own advice, if I had, I would have avoided being as disappointed as I am now, after reading The Death Cure.

With the epic that was the maze runner and the not-so-epic-but-I-read-through-it that was the scorch trials, I was sure Mr. Dashner was going to end this series on a bang! Beside, how can it simply be anything but epic when Thomas and co are finally at the end of their trials and we were finally about to get some answers and explanations to the mystery surrounding the trials?

Yes, I had high hopes, which all turned into a big punch in the face, because there was no explanation for anything in this book! Not the plotline, not why Dashner screwed over some characters or even why he decided to throw Brenda into the picture.

The ending to this book was disappointing, and the sad truth is, disappointing doesn’t even describe how I feel because:

#1: Whining: Why can Thomas just whine about not remembering anything, and when he finally gets a chance to get his memory back, refuse, deciding that he never wants them back?

Watching Thomas fight W.I.C.K.E.D to keep being clueless was like a slap in the face.

The thing here is, when W.I.C.K.E.D volunteered to give the Gladers back their memories, I was so happy and ready for answers, but instead my happiness was rip to sheds as Thomas refused to get back his memories, and kept on whining about a chip in his brain while the whole world fell apart around him, and no fucks were given by him.

To sum up how I really feel about Thomas making this decision, here are two of my friends from The Lego Movie to help me express myself.

Thomas: I don’t want my memories back. I don’t care that I don’t remember anything, and I whine about not knowing anything! I don’t want them back, and I would fight you to the death if you try to force me to take them back.
Lucy: That’s literally the dumbest thing I ever heard.
Vitruvius: Please, Wyldstyle, let me handle this. That idea is just the worst.

Me

#2: 180 degree character change: What happened to the Thomas I knew and love? Thomas who was loving and selfless in the previous books became a self-centered arsehole in the Death Cure. The girl he was pinning over dies and he doesn’t even cry, because he felt betrayed by her.

He finds out the rest of the world was probably about to go to hell and his last thoughts were:

“He hoped that whatever they were, they’d be isolated and safe while the rest of the world figured out how to deal with the Flare, cure and no cure. He knew the process would be long and hard and ugly, and he was one hundred per cent that he wanted no part of it.”

W.O.W talk about taking self-centered to whole new arse level.

Yes, Thomas suffered through a lot of s!ht, but that doesn’t mean he gets to get a 180 degree character change and turn into an arse, especially when he was so loving to begin with, I refuse to accept he can be this self-centered. I refuse!

#3: Love Triangle: And to think Dashner hasn’t screwed me up enough, he decided to throw in some sort of love triangle with Brenda and Teresa. Frankly, I still have no idea what the purpose of Brenda was. She lied from the beginning about who she was, and yet Thomas didn’t even bother to feel betrayal by her, and instead he kept bringing up that one thing that Teresa did over and over again… LIKE SERIOUSLY, SHE DID IT TO SAVE YOUR STUPID LIVE! Arrrgggggg!

And like all love triangles when it came for Thomas to make a choice, Dashner screwed me over again by killing off one of the only characters that I actually liked.

At the end of the day, I love this series, I would probably re-read the first two, though knowing what is waiting ahead for me, I’d probably pretend the third one doesn’t exist to make myself feel better.

As I mentioned before, not everything was bad about this book. As ever, Newt was the glue that kept the boys together and going, even in his final moments he had more humanity than Thomas had at the end of the book. Minho was awesome as always, although I wished there was more of him.

That being said, if you are a fan of the series, read the final book, but only if you want to read for the sake of finishing the series, don’t expect answers to any of the mystery about the trials the Gladers were put through, for the love of all things suspenseful, don’t even expect the title of the book to be a clue… instead expect to feel like Dashner himself punched you in the face, and refused to give you the epic finale you knew he could have given you.

Rating: 3/5 death curing stars = This book was an okay read, I liked some parts. Read it, you might like it more than I did.

Actual Title: THE NOT DEATH CURE.

Mel Out!

Leave a Reply

