The Twilight Saga: Book Series Review

3090465Title: The Twilight Saga, (Twilight #1-4)

Author: Stephanie Meyer

Publisher:Little, Brown and Company

Release Date: From 6. September. 2006 – 2. August 2008.

Overall Rating: 2.9/5 stars

Links: Goodreads  Amazon

This series was one of the books that made me realize how unfortunate it was to be a writer. Oh, and Bella thought me how to roll my eyes every time she spoke.

I was first introduced to this series by my friend in the 8 grade way back when. She walked up to me one day during lunch break at school and went.

Her: Melody, you know that sexy guy in Harry Potter that you are in love with?

Me: Cedric? Yes, what happened to him? He’s coming to Denmark? We are defiantly going to see him.

Her: No, he’s in a new movie, and he sparkles.

Me. YAY, sparkles. He’s playing a supermodel? That’s awesome.

Her: No, he’s not a supermodel. He’s a vampire.

Me: Hmm… a sparkling vampire? Huh?

description

And then I started laughing like crazy, but then I started to notice that while I wasn’t paying attention, the news and everything was filled with ‘twilight’. So I decided to read it. I spent like a two days, the weekend after, reading the series.

Let me start this review off by saying, yes I liked the first book, it was one of the books that turned me to YA, and influenced my early writings, and for that, I can’t say I truly hate it.

Blurb: Twilight

Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks, Washington, and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret.

description

Rating: 3.3/5 stars.

Quick Review:

This books wasn’t bad. Frankly, I enjoyed reading it. I remember when I first read it, and it was something new, and I kept grinning. Although some of my problem with it was how Edward sparkled and Bella was super annoying. Man, I couldn’t stand her, I even skipped a few of her inner boring monologue, gawd there were a lot of them.

Story-wise it was nice to read a love story about a vampire who wanted to eat the girl he was in love with.

“Edward: So the lion fell in love with the lamb.

Bella:What a stupid lamb.

Edward:What a sick masochistic lion.”

Twilight #2: New Moon

descriptionRating: 2.5/5 stars.

Quick Review:

I wasn’t a big fun of this one, because it was all over the place, and while I found Bella annoying in the first book, in this one I found her to be STUPID, and I just couldn’t get into the book.

My favorite part of the whole book was Jacob being a wolf. Having him around changed me temporary to Team Jacob, although I knew he was going to get the short end of the straw soon. #poorwolf.

“Forbidden to remember, terrified to forget; it was a hard line to walk.”

I think the quote here should had been: “Forgotten to remember logic, terrified to be alone from the boy who want to kill me, it was a stupid line I was walking.”

There were a lot of things I didn’t like about the second book.

1: Bella’s Stupidity: She tried to kill herself because the guy who wants to drink her blood and kill her left? COME ON girl! Jesus, how stupid can you be?

Independent, Bella, can you spell that?

2: The Plotline: I’ll just let the below gif explain what I thought of it.

Jesus, the whole wanting to kill yourself thing for love is great, really the ultimate sacrifice and whatnot, but wanting to kill yourself because you want to hallucinate your ex-boyfriend is desperately stupid!

description

Twilight #3: Eclipse

Rating: 1/5 stars.

Quick Review:

This book. I was enjoying this book up until the point that Bella asked Jacob to kiss her, and then had the nerve afterwards to try and kiss Edward and make things right? I wanted to push into the chapters, pull her stupid-arse out and slap some sense back into her. I was so angry at that scene, so much that my then 3-star turned into a 1-star review.

OMG I was so angry and annoyed. Like what is wrong with you girl? Why will you do something like this? Why? I threw the book away, and had to go back and pick it up, because I’d borrow it from the library. That girl gets under my skin!
SHIT

And the triangle was an all high in this one as well, making it impossible to move whatever plot there was along. I mean, everyone knew how it was going to end, that was how predictable the plot was, and Bella’s inner thoughts also made it painfully obvious, so what the hell was it that Jacob didn’t get, and how couldn’t she just choose already?

“I am Switzerland. I refuse to be affected by territorial disputes between mythical creatures.”

Gawd! Seriously, the stupid is strong with this girl!

descriptionTwilight #4: Breaking Dawn

Rating: 1.5/5 stars.

Quick Review.

I remember reading the this book and laughing so hard that tears were running down my cheeks. Come on, Jacob fell in love with the baby? What? I didn’t know why Stephanie decided to go that direction. It was creepy, and just wrong. I mean, he was about to kill himself a second ago for her mother, and now he’s in love with the baby? And she grows at a fast-pace so it was lucky for him?

And please don’t get me started on all the reasons why Jacob being in-love with a fast growing baby is morbidly wrong. Oh, then there’s her name, Jesus, what the heck happened? Seriously, whoever heard of Vampire’s having babies?

Oh, and then everything turned out to be Alice’s dream. It made me hate it even more. I skipped a lot of pages in this one, because it was long and boring.

I borrowed this books at the library and after reading them, I really didn’t want to send it back, because I felt bad for whoever was in line behind me that wanted to read it.

“Did you know that ‘I told you so’ has a brother, Jacob?” she asked cutting me off. “His name is ‘Shut the hell up’.”

I’d have love this series more if:

#1: Bella wasn’t so stupid

#2: Edward wasn’t such a dickhead.

#3: Jacob didn’t end up with the baby.

That being said. There were a few things I loved about this series.

#1: Midnight Sun, hands down a 4/5 read. It was funny, and I’d have love to read Edwards POV, get to know how he was just a control freak.

#2: Alice was my favorite character, I love all the scenes she was in.

#3: The first book was one of the reasons why I fell in love with YA books.

But even with the good things, I’m glad all the hype is over, the media just shoved it down our throat to the point where we all became involuntarily, haters. So at the end of the day, all I have to say is:

description

I seriously hope that if I ever get to meet Kristen Stewart in the future that I don’t mistake her for her Bella character and punch her in face for being just a stupid idiot!

Rating: 2.9 stars for the whole series.

Mel Out!

Leave a Reply

